Weekend Ponderable…

Voice over: “This is the third installment in a four-post Friday segment…”

Here’s your assignment for the weekend. I can’t make heads nor tails of it yet, but it has been bubbling in my mind. I need to talk to some smart people about it, and some of you qualify. (And I don’t know who first said it, but I love it: there’s likely one fewer than you think.)

Anyway, I was lamenting the NAIA Runnin’ Hornets playing Georgia State, and Hofstra’s game on Monday against Old Westbury, which is another non-D1 opponent. Side note: Old Westbury is a better name for scotch than a university.

And it hit me. The best way to present is to show a linear view of my thinking: Playing a D1 RPI 310 school as a tune up is bad. RPI suffers even with the win. RPI may matter come March, and that second bid is vital. They don’t count games against non-D1 teams. Repeatedly, the committee has said they don’t factor those in. If you are playing a 310 RPI team you are on the check-writing side of the buy game. A D3 team will likely command less money. Winning and losing is somewhat transparent in the discussion. You are trying to schedule a win, and if you were going to lose a game you should win, the opponent doesn’t matter.

The hypothesis: If there’s no downside, RPI-wise, the money is cheaper, and you are going to evaluate your team on the same plane–plus Major Conferences aren’t going to touch you–then why not schedule a D2 team every year instead of an RPI 310 D1 team?

Seems to make more sense to me, but I do have a weekend chock full of thought. I reserve the right to change my mind.

~ by mglitos on November 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
