Giddyup…Your Weekend Primer

A late Thursday entry for you, setting up the weekend. My annual sojourn to Caffe Phoenix begins tomorrow morning. Yeah, hitting Trask is always near the top of my favorite stops and I enjoy catching up with old (and new) friends. But really, it’s three days in Wilmington.

I could blabber on about trying to log in to post, making an effort, etc. But we all know differently so there’s no sense in trying to fool even myself. I’m not coming within Mike Eades shouting distance of the computer.

That said…

JMU is riding high after beating VCU last night. Hofstra is struggling without Agreatio and a young lineup. That is precisely why Hofstra wins this game by 10. Ask Jim Larranaga about playing on the road against a struggling team in this conference. Agreatio is a gametime decision as his injury is a matter of comfort. It’s alumni day on The Island, but unfortunately Claxon, Adeleke, and Stokes have used up their eligibility.

Seriously, what Hofstra needs is a team that doesn’t play a pile of hard-nosed defense. The Dukes fill that bill. We’re still Keenerific around CAA: LAMM, but they lose Saturday.

Ditto, kind of, for Rod Barnes and Ga State. That’s a long trip to Boston and Poor Bill, I’m sure, had some pointed words for his troops. We smelled the re-emergence of Manny Adako and here he is. Now, if Cap’n Matt can put it together they are very strong. Huskies by 10.

I don’t know that I want to be UNCW Saturday. They are struggling for an identity and host an angry VCU team. When Anthony Grant starts talking about energy you can bet fires will be set. VCU will be ready and win handily.

Speaking of beatdowns, expect to see one in Norfolk Saturday night. G: TB remains my favorite blog that doesn’t cover mid major hoops 95% of the time, but those guys are going to be unhappy. Again. I think the term used to best describe what Old Dominion is going to do to William & Mary is “trample.”

Towson at Mason will be an interesting game, because there’s no telling what could happen. Sybil, meet the Neopolitan Ice Cream All Stars. (Sometimes great, sometimes bad, and it changes depending on your mood.) I like Jim Larranaga and his corny approach, but that FOCUS thing is ridiculous. Still, Mason is focused and wins. Again, handily.

The most interesting game, in my mind, is the resurgent, first place Delaware Blue Hens of Monte Ross heading to Philly to play Drexel. The Dragons still can’t shoot, and I will never get Delaware’s performance in last year’s CAA tournament out of my mind. Those kids will play hard to the end. So will Drexel. I think Drexel prevails, about 55-51.

***

Not sure if you noticed, but I did…four teevee games for the conference Saturday. It’s early January.

~ by mglitos on January 4, 2008.

8 Responses to “Giddyup…Your Weekend Primer”

  1. Still laughing about “trample,” but I wanted to pat myself on the back while I still can — you know, before it becomes evident I am clueless. I think I picked Delaware as the leaper in the CAA pre-season standings. Woo. Hoo.

  2. You must try Deluxe in downtown Wilmington, Caffe pheonix is really slipping

  3. Caffe Phoenix is amazing.

  4. UNCW finds themselves tonight and Carter goes off for 25. UNCW by 3, 76-73.

  5. Delaware wins … Delaware wins … 3-0 in Conference Play!!!!!

  6. i’m still not sure how the tribe won that game, but i’m not complaining.

  7. Tribe Pride baby…

  8. Mike there certainly was a beatdown in Norfolk saturday night. Is that the way you predicted it?

Leave a Reply

 
