Finally, We Can All Exhale…

I barely made it. I wasn’t sure I could do it, but I’ve survived. Granted we’re still about six hours from kickoff and anything can happen, but it appears I’ve made it to the college football bowl season. Whew.

Utah and Navy square off in one of those games that you dream about all summer in the Poinsettia Bowl (brought to you by the San Diego County Credit Union). I’d use the word ludicrous, if not for this gem over at ESPN.com. The writer’s “most intriguing matchup” is–shockingly–the national championship game. Really.

My question: are there any others? I mean, tomorrow it’s Memphis and Florida Atlantic. That isn’t even an interesting basketball game.

***

Had to get that off my chest.

I mentioned yesterday that I’m worried about William & Mary and its homer against VMI. I remain worried, as the Tribe has everything going against it this evening, when you look at it from a Fate standpoint.

Still, David Schneider is as tough a player as there is in the CAA. He has one ugly-looking shot, but he’s tough. Schneider knocks down 45% of his threes playing D1 college basketball, so who am I to question anyway? Plus, Danny Sumner continues to come along and get better and Alex “R Freighttrain” Jones is getting healthier. And finally, the Tribe is second in the conference in turnovers and first in assist-to-turnover ratio. I like those numbers in a fast-paced game.

Tribe wins it, 88-78.

~ by mglitos on December 20, 2007.

One Response to “Finally, We Can All Exhale…”

  1. Not to be, I guess. It’s Alex Smith, incidentally. I think he must still be injured.

Leave a Reply

 
