I Hate Recruiting

Not to beat a dead horse, but this is very timely. I hate recruiting, for so many reasons. This is not to spit on the folks that follow it closely; everybody has their specialty. I just personally hate recruiting and have no use for it. It’s kind of like Paris Hilton–I have no use for her, but apparently millions of others do.

Here’s why I hate it:

Coaches are nowhere to be found and don’t return calls. Not that I blame them. There is a high school junior on an AAU team playing in some high school gym in Vegas right now, and he is more important than I am. I get it. Doesn’t mean I have to like it.

Then, you get recruiting summary lists like this one.

Now, I like the work CSTV does–they aren’t stupid. But I wonder what these teams are being evaluated against. Nebreaska at #12 and St. John’s at #15? I guess if a .500 team is bringing in seven or eight players, that’s good, right?

And then there’s this, from the body of the story:

“In our final player rankings, Nick Calathes rose from No. 14 to No. 8 and his high school teammate Chandler Parsons jumped all the way from No. 53 to No. 34.”

I don’t know that I need to address the hilarity of that sentence, but I will do so this way:

A coach told me in the past couple of weeks that what they need is a recruiting service that figures out the differences in the kids “ranked 51-500…those are the kids that make the difference. Everybody knows the top 50 and that order really doesn’t matter.”

Anyway, I hate recruiting.

Side note: another tip of the cap to my friends at NCAA Hoops Today, who successfully got me thinking and ranting for the 47th time this summer. Kudos.

And check those guys out–it’s a great site.

***

Lest you worry, coaches are slowly getting back into town over the next week or two and we will be talking. Hopefully I’ll be able to get some good summer dish for you.

~ by mglitos on July 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
