Freaky Friday

The Sporting News’ Mike DeCourcy hits the nail on the head in his assessment of the whole Florida/Anthony Grant thing.

This has little to do with being a head coach one year, and nothing to do with the stupidest–and you can quote me, the most ridiculous–argument about not winning with his players. It has everything to do with fit and philosophy:

“Hiring Grant would fit the profile Foley established in hiring Donovan in 1996: young, energetic, accomplished as a recruiter but not overly experienced as a head coach. Donovan had been head coach only two years at Marshall before Foley offered him the Florida job.”

You can bet the cell battery will run low today.

And I agree with said comment: as if we didn’t have enough reasons to hate the NBA.

(Side note–I heard the show on Discovery about crabbing drew a larger audience than the NBA Finals. I love it. And having seen that show, I know why.)

***

Useless note but it’s my blog: I saw where Marc Iavaroni was hired as head coach at Memphis. I was introduced to Iavaroni when he was a sophomore at Virginia and I was about 10 years old. The man that made the introduction? A young asssistant named Jim Larranaga.

~ by mglitos on June 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
