You Might Think

So here’s today’s schizophrenic paradigm…I gave this a pile of thought while completing 3,582 hours of yard work this weekend. (Warning: the topic carries far more gravity than my sun burn issue.)

I adamantly believe the Virginia Tech tragedy is not–I repeat NOT–a sports story. I continually shake my head at the coverage it is getting in the sports world. Think about it…this is a profoundly human story having nothing to do three-point percentage, spring football, or earned run averages.

Having the agenda-pushing, doughnut-eating, egomaniacal ESPN Sports Reporters commenting on this tragedy is a little like having Paula Zahn or Wolf Blitzer commenting on the infield fly rule or the charge/block call. I’m tired of seeing it in the B or C section of the newspaper.

Similarly, the whole Don Imus flap is NOT a sports story. Never was. There’s so much wasted oxygen in the sports world it annoys me.

But the connundrum?

Anybody who debates the role of sports in society and its importance just doesn’t get it.

***

The ACC outlasted the CAA in a tight, defensive grind in the inaugural Commonwealth Collegiate Challenge game. The final score was somewhere around 141-136 and I think it is safe to say a good time was had by all.

~ by mglitos on April 23, 2007.

3 Responses to “You Might Think”

  1. The VT thing is not a sports story, I agree. But the reaction to it in the sports world certainly is. Just like it was with 9/11.

    I was going to use a reverse case of the Jackie Robinson story, but I don’t think it really would get at the heart of my point, nor be a fair comparison… but I think my drift is clear. And yours is clear in your conundrum – not to mention dead on.

    And I’m no ESPN apologist – they do what is in the interest of themselves and I hate how obvious it is – but people want to hear about how it affected sports and how sports affects the aftermath, plus all those cute stories about tributes in the sports world.

    NOW, the Imus thing has a sports connection, obviously, but was in no way a sports story, and was covered extensively in every other media outlet. That was overkill, even for ESPN.

    I’m curious to read the new ESPN.com ombudsman’s take on it.

    My 2 cents… as I eat pizza… while “working”.

  2. P.S. I stopped watching the sports reporters after Dick Schaap died, therefore I have no frame of reference for you comments on that group’s display.

  3. Meet Bill Conlin. Meet Mike Lupica.

    Signed,

    Mike Nuf Sed McGreevey

Leave a Reply

 
