Shout

I’m a grand disappointment today. I know this. You know how business meetings go, and I had a doozie. So I’m hamstrung on time. I know I’m shedding tears nobody cares about, but look: if I got paid for this ridiculous blog, I may be able to devote actual time to it. You would get more information and less Shakespeare.

I actually blame it on the conference. This friggin five games in 11 days tests even me. If I didn’t have to worry about Monday predictions and getting to the Shaverthatmoustache/VCU game, I could take my time and write something extraordinarily incisive about Bracket Busters. Sadly, I’ll give you Styx or Stones. (Yes, I’m crying again. But this time I’m deflecting blame. It’s a skill you pick up in the business world.)

***

First, some random thoughts about the Daskaslasiasiaskliasiasklis Center. I think the thing that most impresses me is that the DAC PACK has their own section. And I’m not talking about the “everybody get there early and save seats” kind of section. I mean on the plaquard on the wall that shows the layout of the gym–and that is a kind word for the building–there is actually a section titled DAC PACK. That’s impressive.

These guys are good at what they do, too. Very organized and loud, though they need someone to work with them on creativity. Some guys in blue in the end zone–not the sanctioned DAC Pack section–had the best chant of the day, pumping “Bob-ble-head” at VCUs Eric Maynor. Very funny stuff.

I was told the President of the university was gonig to sit up in the section with them at one point–I think the under 16:00 media time out–but I forgot to check. That means you’ve arrived. In fact, these guys are probably the best student section since UNCWs famous Hecklers from a few years back. Perhaps there should be a pasing of the torch at this year’s tournament in Richmond. At least a ceremonial box or something.

***

Bracket Busters: I don’t know. We’ll talk tomorrow about that.

***

Weekend Wrapup

Nothing exciting or taxing other than VCU winning again on the road over the Elegarless Dragons to move to 10-0 in the conference and creep closer to a national ranking.

Think Wednesday holds any intrigue?

***

Predictions
Pain-free today, because I need to run. Sometimes the best creativity is minimalism.

William & Mary at VCU
Just no letdown in sight, but closer than experts think.
Dayton 73, North Carolina 65

Hofstra at Delaware
Foreigners play a lot tonight.
Lithuania 81, Newark (not THAT one) 66

Georgia State at Old Dominion
Surely there’s a rerun of M*A*S*H on teevee.
Henry Blake 72, Sherman Potter 56

Drexel at Northeastern
Like this couldn’t have been predicted for Poor Bill.
Fire 64, Ice 56

George Mason at UNCW
In November many would’ve called this the CAA championship game.
Gunston 74, Some Guy in a Hawk Suit 60

Towson at James Madison
In November nobody would’ve called this the CAA championship game.
Road Team 79, Home Team 71

~ by mglitos on January 29, 2007.

5 Responses to “Shout”

  1. I know you are a mostly serious scribe of the CAA, but I write a humor/satire site with a regular feature called “Who The Hell Are…” in which I honestly assess a team nobody knows much about and then completely make up profiles of the coaches and players.

    I had avoided (my own) CAA until I saw who was coming out as the one to beat, so this week it was finally time for:

    Who The Hell Are… The VCU Rams?
    (http://extrapolater.com/s-vcu.html)

  2. Should have gone with history, and realized GMU hasn’t swept UNCW in eons.

  3. It would seem that Hofstra got caught lookin ahead.

  4. “That means you’ve arrived. In fact, these guys are probably the best student section since UNCWs famous Hecklers from a few years back. Perhaps there should be a pasing of the torch at this year’s tournament in Richmond. At least a ceremonial box or something.”

    AH HA hahahahaha! šŸ™‚

  5. Two facts …
    1. Mason cannot win at Trask.
    2. CAA gets shafted by Bracketbusters. How does VCU draw the 5th best team in the MVC? Are O’Bryant and Somerville getting eligibility for this one?

Leave a Reply

 
