Changes in Attitude

Today’s Theme: Changes

I know we’re only four games into the season, but you can see trends. Glaring, gaping trends. I see The Dub having the kind of season people will point to in 15 years and wonder how they made it through. I see William & Mary fans spirited like they haven’t seen in 15 years. It won’t translate into any postseason, but finishing 7-11, 14-14 with the Bracket Busters game outstanding would be, well, outstanding. It represents what the Tribe faithful have yearned for since Charlie Woolum: progress.

I see the tarnish of the slippers continuing and I see the crowning of a Bruiser. I also see UD looking awful but by season’s end seeing a glimmer of hope.

Mainly, I see a second bid.

That’s a good non-change.

***

With all of the hype over VCUs vaunted press and the turnovers it supposedly forces on the defensive end, quietly the Rams have posted a shocking statistic. VCU is tied for 16th nationally, as of Sunday, in fewest turnovers committed (12.0). What’s more, VCU only committed eight against Nor’Easter, which will improve that standing.

You would think that the fast pace would dictate a high number of turnovers on the offensive end. As I say here about once every week: you would be wrong.

***

The Slate

JMU at UNCW: Everything is going the wrong way down at the beach, and now The Dub will have to go without Daniel Fountain. A loss to one of the conference doormats in Trask may spawn the kind of revolution that opens up jobs. Jobs I could handle. With ease. Alas, I don’t think I could ever pick against a desperate team playing at home.
Final Call: The Dubious 68, Harrisonburg’s Finest 64.

Georgia State at Northeastern: This is a battle of two completely different styles. Georgia State has been wildly unpredictable this year, while Nor’Easter has been ridiculously predictable. Makes for an entertaining game. I got see Poor Bill up close the other night and I like how he handles himself and the team, especially since he starts a 13-year old at point guard. I’m predicting, so I’ll take predictable.
Final Call: NE 71, SE 62.

Delaware at Old Dominion: Everybody is talking up the fact that Monte Ross only has eight players. My call is that Harding Courtney is the really important one. I think we know the winner, but I need a prediction. Here goes: I’m guaranteeing Blaine Taylor uses the word “workmanlike” in his postgame press conference.
Final Call: Rocky IV 79, Eight Men Out 65.

VCU at William & Mary: Well, VCU annually struggles in The Hall. The Tribe is playing well. You know what I think about that trend. Also, keep in mind Shaverthatmoustache is due a bad game (and I mean that in the Towson-will-win-on-the-road sense). The Tribe gets caught looking ahead to Saturday’s Delaware game.
Final Call: Josh Clarks 66, Steve Christies 58.

~ by mglitos on January 10, 2007.

One Response to “Changes in Attitude”

  1. I don’t know about a 2nd bid. It wasn’t a particularly fantastic non-conference performance for the CAA.

    Even with our successes, there’s a lot of hoping and rooting for teams such as G’Town, Villanova, and Syracuse.

    The Bracket Busters are invaluable. Nevertheless, one must take into account the relative strength of the PAC-10, Missouri Valley, and the Mountain West, who are considerably stronger than last year and may steal a potential 2nd bid for the CAA.

Leave a Reply

 
