Buzz, Buzz, Buzz

CAA Media Day, and a completely different feel from last year. There are too many other outlets that can give you the coaches quotes. I think we all know how those go at these kinds of events. Think Nuke Laloosh on the hardwood.

Let’s talk about the event and the high points. Oh, and I’ll get you more later. I just got back and have a pile to do.

I summed it up to Blaine Taylor, when I finally got a chance to sit down with him, that last year I was able to talk to whomever I wanted to. This year, I talked to whomever I could.

And there were a lot of people. I’d say five times the number of folks were on hand, including a couple of USA Today reporters and John Feinstein. The buzz in the room was exponentially greater.

As you might imagine, Jim Larranaga held court. Mason PR foof Richard Coco had to give up on the one-on-one interviews and gave in to a group session.

Tom Pecora mentioned Andy Katz is going to spend some time with the team and hang out at practice this evening.

I finally met Washington Post scribe and new bogger Dan Steinberg. You Mason guys cut him some slack. Good guy and he gets it. Helluva good haircut, too.

I was told Gary Neal scored 45 points in a scrimmage. Hoo-boy, he is going to be fun.

For once, the media did a good job picking preseason All CAA teams. Loren Stokes is preseason POY. The only glaring omission in my mind is Drew Williamson. He won’t get the big pub, ever, but he is one of the top five guys I take if I’m drafting a team of CAA players. Anyway, my thought is that he should replace his teammate Arnaud Dahi on the second team. I just can’t see voting a guy to the all conference team who just had ACL surgery. And I don’t care what people say, Dahi has a ways to go.

~ by mglitos on October 25, 2006.

2 Responses to “Buzz, Buzz, Buzz”

  1. Dahi has ways to go: Please, have you been to a practice or seen him play.

    MGLAU: you are freaking joke and no better than the rest of the so called experts and losers on the zone.

    Don’t quit your day job if you have one.

  2. Mglau, I will not judge any player until I have seen them play myself. After tonight we will have the full story. But I do know for a fact that he is not close to being able to jump like he could before.

Leave a Reply

 
