Let’s Go

Sorry for the delay. I played golf early in the week and my lips got sunburned. Thankfully, I had some Chapstick to soothe and soften my burned skin. That stuff is GOLD !!!

***

I love fans. I really do. Right now George Mason fans are abolutely OFFENDED when any conversation having to do with college basketball does not involve them. (“But enough about me. Let’s talk about you. What do you think about me?)

After vehemently defending Alex Loughton, saying he is better than his stats, ODU fans now won’t miss Loughton that much. Using up your eligibility has a way of impacting your value.

VCU fans feel they are in great hands with Anthony Grant. Better than Capel. But how do they know, really? I met Grant the other day for the first time, and the best thing I can say is that he’s looking for a house on my side of town. It is true, though, that he has never lost a game as head coach.

UNCW fans are so very happy their mess is straightened out and Mike Capaccio now leads coaches in daily kum-bah-yah singalongs. It’s funny, I was getting on Capaccio for not hiring me to replace Brad Brownell. I was misguided all along. It’s Capaccio’s job I should have…right, Wilmington?

WARNING !!!! LEGIT NEWS: Ray Barbosa and Cavell Johnson are transferring to UMBC. END OF LEGIT NEWS…I don’t get Ray Barbosa. What does he get out of that? Did he think suddenly Dave Leitao was going to call? Lute Olsen? The market has a way of determining value all on its own, and in this case a short guard who has regressed in his career ended up where he should be.

Hey, I spent a couple of hours with Da’ Commish this morning. Methinks we will all enjoy next season. But here’s the rub, and every single one of us needs to get this, and get it good: ya gotta keep winning. Don’t and this baby becomes a one-year wonder.

St. Joe’s was undefeated and #1 in the nation three years ago, and what do you think of them? Of the A10? Kent State went to the Great Eight in 2002 and what do you think of them? Of the MAC?

Side note: I watched, in person, Hofstra go to St. Joe’s and win. Hofstra was CLEARLY a better team. Just plain more talented, and, I will venture, better coached.

***

On a truly serious note…
I’m stretching it out, folks. Trying to figure out what direction to take the blog this summer and next fall. So you’ll get my tourney memories over the next week or so.

Oh, I’ll be back, wasting your time as I always have. Without the book project and getting to three games a week, I jut don’t how how to do this well. And if I begin to stink more than ever, well, I’ll have to do something rash. Like shut my mouth.

So there.

~ by mglitos on May 11, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
