Rock This Town

The Stray Cats are a little more appropriate today than Elvis, Coltrane, or Winona, don’t you think?

I believe in fate. Karma. The whole reaping what ye shall sow stuff. And that’s why I should’ve known all this was going to happen. If I had been paying attention in October, when I saw Jim Larranaga sitting by himself at a table during the CAA media day, I would’ve seen the moment as a sign.

You see, I had been scheming with Richard Coco, the GMU basketball SID, to get with Larranaga for about an hour. There were other responsibilities and we both had moved on. I turned a corner and there was Larranaga, just kind of sitting there. I walked up, sat down, introduced myself, and told him about my book and asked for 15 minutes that would have little to do with his season.

One hour later he gave me his card and told me to call him anytime during the season, and that I had better send him a signed copy. I decided on the spot that regardless of what teams I was “following,” Jim Larranaga and George Mason would be featured prominently. Larranaga had a lot to say, it was relevant and interesting, and he was very good to me with his time and with his thoughts.

I should’ve seen it for so many reasons.

When I was nine years old, a fourth grader at Oak Grove Elementary School, my family had season tickets to Virginia basketball games. After an NC State game, I was escourted by a Virginia assistant coach to meet my favorite player at that time, Marc Iavaroni. Obviously, you know who that assistant coach was.

I read somewhere this morning that Larranaga was hired by George Mason on April 1, 1997–nine years ago today. (Today’s Side Note: the 1997 Final Four was held in Indianapolis.)

Finally, I am frequently asked how I got the idea for this book or how did I know this was going to happen or even more prevalent: why did I pick this year?

I’m beginning to think that it picked me.

***

Unfortunate is the best dispassionate word I can find for the Brad Brownell situation. There is going to be mud and allegations and he said/he said and rumor and gossip. None of it really matters.

I guess my point is this: sometimes people just don’t get along and no amount of success is worth a certain price of your day-to-day work life. There will be people astonished that Brownell would leave after a championship season; that he had everything for him there.

Doesn’t matter if your situation makes you unhappy.

Stay away from the canasta game and wish Brownell well.

***

The VCU athletics director job appears to be a two-horse race:

Paul Griffin, a senior associate director of athletics at Georgia Tech, and Norwood Teague, associate AD for marketing and promotions at North Carolina.

***

This is officially it. See you at 6:07, and then again at 8:30.

And if three blind women see fit, I’ll see you Monday night.

~ by mglitos on April 1, 2006.

2 Responses to “Rock This Town”

  1. brownell must have good reasons for taking the WSU job (money, he’s from ohio, or whatever)… but that is such a step backwards in my mind. the horizon league is so far from the league the CAA is and is becoming.

    Another interesting subject… the whole world is busy praising Tony Skinn and how ‘that one instance he got caught up in the moment, he made a poor choice that he’ll always regret…blah blah blah.’ no one in the media has mentioned the whole Drexel game incident with Bashir Mason… which makes me suspect the groin shot wasn’t an out-of-character mistake…could it be the media just don’t know about that, or they simply don’t care? i say he’s a bum… but i’m a big jai lewis fan! let’s go GMU…

  2. I hope Skinn reads this.

    http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/columns/story?columnist=wojciechowski_gene&id=2392170&lpos=spotlight&lid=tab1pos1

Leave a Reply

 
