Dreamer…

Let’s get one thing straight before I go any further: I battling my worst head cold in a dozen years, and I have enough Sudafed in me to drop a cow. I turned off the ACC tournament last night in favor of a hunt for the Loch Ness Monster on Discovery Channel.

(Side Note: email me if you need some info on the plesiosaurus…)

So there.

***

The more I think about this thing (the at large bids, not the Loch Ness Monster) the more I buy into the whole “play your way in” theory. It makes sense. No team is the same as they were in November. I don’t care who you beat or lost to back then, everything is different. I prefer the recent games approach. Just me.

And that, for me, calls into question this team:

19 wins
RPI: 26
Record, top 50 RPI: 3-6
Last 10: 5-5
Road/neutral: 6-8

Boy, that’s close.

The other thing: these RPIs are mind-boggling. You keep hearing “XXX” can’t be left out because their RPI is “YY.” Well, yes, I think they can. Let’s drill into the numbers and find out. Call it my GW Theory. Don’t overuse SOS because it is already wrapped up in RPI.

Note to A 10 fans: I’m not saying GW doesn’t belong in the tournament. Quite the opposite. But the difference in a 5-seed and the Aggie Bubble ain’t that great.

Oh, that team is Marquette.

***

It’s going to be very, very, very, very interesting to see what The Flatleys do this year. Craig Littlepaige may be doing interviews until the noon tipoff Thursday.

~ by mglitos on March 10, 2006.

One Response to “Dreamer…”

  1. I just wish ESPN didnt have such an influence on everyone. They screwed Hofstra with a BS bracketbuster game and didnt put them on TV and gave them a home game vs no name Siena. Now Lunardi only has one CAA team in. This league gets no respect. Three teams in the top 30 RPI and Lunardi is saying only one bid. How is that possible. Can someone please answer me?

Leave a Reply

 
