A-B-C, 1-2-3

As much as I hate this week, I love this week. The Iowa Caucuses have nothing on the posturing that occurs.

Take, for example, this latest from Andy Katz. Agree or disagree with whatever you’d like. I personally love the fact that you cannot go two sentences without someone spinning the Almighty Bejeezus out of their season.

James Carville, where are you?

Today’s Side Note: Am I the only one that wants to stick my index finger two millimeters from Gary Williams’ nose and shout “Just Shut It?”

***

I’m tired of hearing the ridiculous argument.

“Hofstra would struggle to go 7-9 in the Big East.” (So did Syracuse.)

“Mason would struggle to go 8-8 in the ACC.” (So did Maryland.)

Neither Maryland nor Syracuse played a true road game until after the first of the year. Hofstra and George Mason had both played one before Thanksgiving.

I guess my point is this: it’s nearly impossible to tell which is better: 15-3 in the CAA or 7-9 in the Big East. They are certainly extremely comparable.

So factor those out and look at other stuff. Teams playing well right now is huge for me, honestly. Few, if any, teams are the same as they were in November and December. It’s the games in February that provide me a true gauge.

***

I’d rather this NOT go unnoticed

Hofstra has had, really, one “bad loss” all season – at Towson. I was there, and I saw it. Few will remember that Adrian Uter, the rock of the Hofstra defense, did not play because of a bum ankle. Towson’s two big guys (Lawrence Hamm and Denard Abraham) shot 16-23 from the floor–I’ve got to think Uter would’ve made a difference.

But my point is this. When pundits start weighing the pros and cons of bubble teams, you will hear bad losses by major teams explained away for various reasons–many times an injury to a key player. Remember last year, all you heard come tourney time was that: “North Carolina lost to Santa Clara in their season opener, but they were playing without Raymond Felton.”

For whatever reason, mid majors don’t get this slack.

So I want it pointed out now to Tom O’Connor, Craig Littlepaige, and Jon LeCrone: “Hofstra lost to Towson on the road, but they were playing without Adrian Uter.”

I only care about the CAA. But I’m sure we can talk Funk and any other MVC guy, too.

***

Yes, I know that Texas A&M and Florida State don’t carry the “resume” of Mason or Hofstra. I have them as locks for a reason, and it doesn’t have anything to do with “fair.”

~ by mglitos on March 8, 2006.

10 Responses to “A-B-C, 1-2-3”

  1. can you please also point out that Syracuse refused to play Hofstra this year. Hofstra played them the last two years and wouldnt reschedule them this year because Hofstra got home jobbed at the Carrier Dome last year. Hofstra was up at halftime, but werent allowed to win. Boeheim wouldnt reschedule this year.

  2. Can someone please take Gary Williams to task on the “We’ll play Missouri State three times at a neutral site any day.” comment in Andy Katz’s piece on ESPN.com today. That would happen just as fast as them playing a road game in the NIT.

  3. There is no way Gary Williams or Jim Boeheim would play any team in the CAA on the road. They never do and they never will. Neither team has beaten anyone this year. And both teams would be .500 at best in the CAA. They are flat out bad teams.

  4. Here’s some food for thought. I know this is a CAA blog, but in vouching for a CAA team [as an alumnus of the conference], I want to discuss the RPI of 21 for Missouri St. I’ve seen them play and they’re decent. But I think I’ve unlocked something that’s been little discussed by the talking heads.

    First, here’s their non-conference schedule:
    v. Northern Illinois
    @ Arkansas st.
    v. Ga. Southern
    v. Texas a&m CC
    @ Oral Roberts
    v. Detroit
    @ Arkansas
    v. Arkansas St.
    @ Wisconsin-Milwaukee

    They went 8-1 in this stretch. According to kenpom.com, the non-conference SOS is 39 and the non-conference RPI is an eye-gouging 6.

    I have to think that there are at least 6 teams in the entire nation with a better non-conference schedule than what you see above. As a result, this skews the overall RPI rating. I rest my case.

  5. Paymon: check out “She Blinded Me with Science” of Feb. 28.

    I’m with you. Somebody just needs to explain this to me.

  6. If you use Gary Williams’ logic, one could assume if you play Duke 15 times and UNC 15 times, even if you lose EVERY game, you should be in the tournament for playing the hardest schedule.

    Gary, if your team and your league is SOOO good, I dare you to schedule a home and home with Mason, Hofstra, ODU, Wilmington, or even VCU or Northeastern. Something tells me you don’t have the guts.

  7. I challenge Gary Williams, Jim Boeheim, Coach K, etc. The bottom line is they will never, ever play a team like George Mason, Hofstra, UNCW, ODU. The bottom line is and i agree with the post before. Syracuse played Hofstra the last 2 years. Hofstra came close last year and all of a sudden Hofstra doesnt get an invite to Syracuse. Its always the same thing. Throw strength of schedule out. The big conferences will never play us at home. Do you think anyone will play UNCW at home. Or Hofstra 20 wins at home in a row. Mid Majors get better every year. This is no different. The bottom line is this conference is better than most. Someone play us please. And Gary Williams shut the fuck up and win a game.

  8. Great comments. All valid. I do think the powers that be took a step in the right direction by changing the value of the home/away games when computing the RPI. That has helped the mid-majors and is helping balance the playing field by encouraging team in the BCS conferences to play the CAA’s of the world.

  9. Yes, they’ve changed the RPI formula and it has helped the mid-majors, but this is really the first year that the committee may have the chance to either stand by the RPI formula and take a mid as an at-large or be like the cowards I think they are, and select a big conference team despite having worse RPI numbers.

  10. Look again at ‘Cuse.

    They are beating #1 CONN right this very moment.

Leave a Reply

 
