The Morning After

In case you were wondering, and I know you were not, that was my dome behind Brad Nessler last night. Thanks to my friends, I now know how many messages error out my voice mail, and I also have a new appreciation for the shininess and utter size of my noggin. One day I’ll have to put something in there…

Lots to get to today, so consider this the first of “more than one…”

***

What can you say about The Dub that ESPNs Pat Forde did not.

Hofstra was 1-15 from the floor at one point and trailed 28-9 at the under 8:00 media time out. When it got to 35-15, the Pride was 3-18 from the field and 9-13 from the foul line. There was enough squirming to film a Fear Factor episode.

There’s nothing really else you can say about UNCWs championship effort. They absolutely Dubbed three teams this weekend: precise and executory on offense, and stubborn on defense.

***

Hofstra’s late run MAY have saved them the at large bid. If 35-15 doesn’t become 35-26, and 53-30 become 62-59, selection committee members–and lots of folks across the YouEsAy–utilized the click factor and caught a CSI rerun.

That’s what it’s all about.

***

Loren Stokes was, at best, 50% last night. You could tell from the lack of a burst in those critical first two steps. He just didn’t have them. Also, his defense was limited because the exertion was painful.

Let it be known: I’m not sure what will happen five days from now, but Tony Skinn may have cost TWO teams an at large bid. Try looking your teammates, especially the seniors, in the eyes after that.

***

Tom Yeager and the folks at the CAA office had a call yesterday with Jon LeCrone, commish of the Horizon and the CAAs designated rep on the selection committee. A couple of notes from that: you can bet your bippy Skinn’s suspension is being treated as a one-game injury, and scheduling was discussed in detail (as in…who in the world did (insert major conference school here)play nonconference? Don’t pick on Hofstra or UNCW if you’re not going to pick on Indiana or Syracuse…)

One thing was also clear: if you don’t think that these committee members see and hear everything, and don’t know every scenario and every spin, you are wrong.

***

Is there anybody in the college basketball world in a tougher, no-win position right now than Tom O’Connor? Let’s make it easy on you to follow:

1. George Mason is only in the tournament because its AD is on the freaking committee.

2. Tom, you are on the freaking committee; how could you not get us in?

***

God Bless missing wide open layups. I hope Tom Pecora didn’t hurt his back dodging that bullet.

You know what I mean.

***

So where does that leave us? Before you start quoting RPI, I want you to file this one:

The CAA is done. Hofstra and George Mason can do nothing else on the court to help themselves.

Keep a VERY, VERY, VERY close eye on the teams surrounding CAA teams in the RPI. These guys will most likely be playing in their own conference tournaments and will be winning their way past the CAA teams. This is how Hofstra went from #37 to #25 over the weekend. Every other team has the same opportunity.

I haven’t checked the numbers yet but if Hofstra’s RPI falls to, say, #29 today, look at #25 through #42. Note who can pass them in the RPI by winning a few games and root your ass off against them. Hofstra at #29 (and Mason at #32 or whatever) is far more compelling than the same two teams at #36 and #39.

(Today’s Side Note: when I’m on press row or the radio I must be neutral. Nobody said that had to occur here.)

***

I loved the announcement last night that told the fans that they could rush the court to celebrate with their team, but to “please come to the floor in an organized and safe manner.”

That’s like telling the guy with the winning lotto ticket to “please drive slowly and carefully to the lotto office.”

***

The conference pooh-bahs are headed up I-95 for the women’s tournament. Think some cell phone batteries are in trouble?

***

Thanks to the folks that stopped by to say hello and introduce themselves to me last night, and over the weekend.

~ by mglitos on March 7, 2006.

16 Responses to “The Morning After”

  1. If I’m Hofstra one team I would be rooting for this week is LaSalle. If the Explorers make a run in the A-10 (even if they were to upset GW) it would help give Hofstra more of a marquee non-conference win. Granted the A-10 would otherwise be a 1 bid league, but if LaSalle wins it Hofstra would suddenly have an out of conference road win over a top 100 RPI conference champion, something that would surely help their resume.

    Also, teams like Notre Dame an Miss. St winning a game or two this week wouldnt be too bad as it would help Mason and Hofstra’s strength of schedule. I think the CAA will definitely get one of these two in. If Mason gets in then Hofstra has to go too. But if Hofstra goes, theres a chance Mason might have fallen all the way out.

  2. What everyone fails to remember is that Hofstra beat Mason on their home court and on a neutral court. What would have happened if Hofstra played Mason at home? You’d probably have a 1-1 split. The committee will look at that and see that!

  3. Oh, Give me a break…Richmond is as good as a home game for George Mason. Its 7 hours from Hofstra, and our crowd was a ton better than the Mason crowd despite being out numbered 2 or 3 to 1…im very disappointed with the Mason fans, they were awful, provided no home court advantage…

  4. Hi idiot. Mason never played good in Richmond. THus the reason this year was the first year they beat VCU in Richmond since like 2001. Get your stats right before you talk.

  5. And of course the Mason fans weren’t crazy loud, did you see how Mason played the 2nd half? I wouldn’t be cheering either if I was a Mason fan. They were having fun the first half and were being loud. Sometimes I wonder why I waste my breath on idiots like you. Must always be that way with Hofstra fans.

  6. I dont care if they dont play good in Richmond moron…Thats when they r playing AT VCU, not a team on a “neutral” site (like Hofstra thats 8, i repeat, 8 hours away!)…they were there all weekend just like every other team; they can learn to adapt to the surroundings just like any other GOOD team would…Hofstra played essentially three road games this weekend,and they did just fine…And dont use the cop out excuse that bc of the way ur team played you guys werent into it. Crowds are more than capable of getting a team fired up, and vice-a-versa obviously…When it comes down to it, Mason fans are pathetic- you must be from Virginia or somewhere around there bc fans down there CLEARLY dont have the intensity and desire that a fan from Boston, New York, or Philly does…I hope you were the goon wearing the paper bag over your head with the “We choked, hello NIT” sign i saw…and another note…the “Hofstra fans” u were talking about have the best home court advantage in the conference- dont be all pissy bc we ran your #25 overrated Patriots out of our gym and our state…enjoy the NIT

  7. bryan_kulp: You’re an idiot. Did you see anywhere that said THAT I’M FROM MASON? … no. In fact, I easily stated that “if I was a Mason fan.” You Hofstra fans just come out the woodwork with no freaking knowledge. Get over yourself. Mason never plays good in Richmond, that’s my point. “Adapting” doesn’t matter. I’ll laugh if Mason goes in over Hofstra, not that I care who goes over who, honestly I think both should go in. Nonetheless, if Mason goes in over Hofstra, I hope to hear your reasons you whining bitch.

  8. And not to mention is that you beat a #25 ranked team ON YOUR HOME COURT WHERE YOU’VE WON 20 STRAIGHT .. and you’re calling them overrated? You, my friend, really are an idiot. Hofstra must not be edjo0kayteeng you guys very well. What are you majoring in? Idiotology?

  9. Adapting has everything to do with it tough guy…my original point was that someone “anonymous” (most likely your dumbass) stated that Hofstra never played at Mason this year- but that is a total cop out. The committee will not even make note of that,much less factor it in. If George Mason cant show up in the CONFERENCE TOURNAMENT the committee will not even care about the fact that hofstra didnt play at Mason. That why Neutral Sites and Road games go into THE SAME CATEGORY. THATS my point. And i dont care where you are from or much less who you are. And why shouldnt i call Mason overrated???…they were ranked this year, and no one gave Hofstra any love, its a completely legitimate statement…And listen son…i have more sports knowledge in my pinky finger than you got all together…So me the idiot is waiting for your response and when you do, two things- ease up on the insults- it is completley useless unless you wanna come by HU and say them right to my face, and number two let me know where u r from…

  10. Haha … talking crap over a blog “come say it to my face.” I’m from Norfolk, but that really doesn’t matter. If you have more sports knowledge than me, I’d love to challenge you over IM to test your dumb ass. I have a good feeling you can’t defeat me in sports knowledge. Talk it over a blog, but you can’t walk it in real life.

  11. And another thing Bryan talking abotu “OH MASON FANS ARE CRAPPY SUPPORTERS.” Did you notice that when Duke started to losing by a decent amount to UNC how the fans didn’t seem into it anymore? I have a news flash for you, WHEN YOUR TEAM IS LOSING AND PLAYING HORRIBLE, THE FANS GET PISSED AND DON’T SEEM AS INTO IT.

    Do you ever watch other games besides your beloved Hofstra Pride?

    I’ve been to a game in the Patriot Center, and the fans are not only loud and supportive, but they’re also hilarious with some of the chants they come up with.

    So please, save yourself the embarrassment and stay out of something that is incomprehensible to your feeble little mind.

    I’m sure next you’re going to say ‘OH MAN, THE (INSERT TEAM HERE)’S FANS AREN’T INTO IT WHEN THEY’RE LOSING BY 10 OR MORE POINTS! THEY’RE CRAPPY SUPPORTERS.

    Ha, when Hofstra finally loses a game at home, let’s see how “into it” your biased “WE HAVE THE MOST AWESOME SUPPORT” fans are. Sorry, but UNCW’s fans were the loudest during your game. In fact, I didn’t even hear the Hofstra crowd. Sorry, you suck.

  12. And another thing Bryan talking abotu “OH MASON FANS ARE CRAPPY SUPPORTERS.” Did you notice that when Duke started to losing by a decent amount to UNC how the fans didn’t seem into it anymore? I have a news flash for you, WHEN YOUR TEAM IS LOSING AND PLAYING HORRIBLE, THE FANS GET PISSED AND DON’T SEEM AS INTO IT.

    Do you ever watch other games besides your beloved Hofstra Pride?

    I’ve been to a game in the Patriot Center, and the fans are not only loud and supportive, but they’re also hilarious with some of the chants they come up with.

    So please, save yourself the embarrassment and stay out of something that is incomprehensible to your feeble little mind.

    I’m sure next you’re going to say ‘OH MAN, THE (INSERT TEAM HERE)’S FANS AREN’T INTO IT WHEN THEY’RE LOSING BY 10 OR MORE POINTS! THEY’RE CRAPPY SUPPORTERS.

    Ha, when Hofstra finally loses a game at home, let’s see how “into it” your biased “WE HAVE THE MOST AWESOME SUPPORT” fans are. Sorry, but UNCW’s fans were the loudest during your game. In fact, I didn’t even hear the Hofstra crowd. Sorry, you suck.

  13. Haha alright whatever anonymous, anyday you wanna talk sports bring it…listen enough of the arguing, and your from Norfolk, i dont need to say anything more on the subject…and i agree with you- and most of the points you’ve made, however when a team isnt playing well, MOST of the time their fans are quiet and not into it…but ill argue that point with a situation from the CAA tourney…when Hofstra cut the 23 point deficit, the UNCW fans were STILL making noise egging their team on…an obv we r gonna lose a game at home sooner or later, but anytime you win 20 in a row at home, you have a significant and obvious home court advantage- theres just denying that…and it is IMO that Mason fans are crappy fans…i wasnt stating a fact there cuz it totally opinionated, just like your retarded opinion that the committee will see the fact that Hofstra didnt play @ Mason (which you still havent owned up to) btw, i still have no voice from last weekend, my voice was shot after sunday night- i had nothing to give on monday night,much like the others that were there…kulpey is my IM…btw, wat team do you support?

  14. I live in Norfolk, yes. And I work in Norfolk also. I went to Norfolk for the job opportunity, so I don’t see what it matters. UNCW fans were going balls out crazy because even though Hofstra was cutting back into the lead, it was so high that UNCW had to just give up to lose. Why wouldn’t they keep cheering? Why I say the committee will look at Mason didn’t play Hofstra once at home is because it does matter. The home games are not weighted as high as away games. If Hofstra walked into Fairfax, beat Mason, and beat them at home. Then Hofstra is the better team by far. All I’m saying is that the 2 losses in 10 days won’t be as HIGHLY regarded as some think, because they didn’t get a chance of a game in Fairfax. Mason’s RPI is higher than Hofstra’s. Mason’s SOS is better than Hofstra’s. Mason has more quality OOC wins than Hofstra. All Hofstra has is beating them twice. Could it work for them? Hell yes. I’m not refuting that it wouldn’t. All I’m saying is that Mason DOES have a better resume. Also, if Wake Forest beats NC State, Mason’s RPI will go up more. If Hampton wins, their RPI goes up more (not a lot, cause damn does Hampton suck.) Also, if Illinois wins, Wichita State’s RPI goes up which allows Mason’s RPI to go up. And I really don’t root for any team other than the fact that I enjoy the CAA and other mid majors. I’m originally from Florida, and I’m a huge FSU football fan, so I always like to see FSU succeed, but I’m not die-hard like I am for football. I like the underdogs. I just feel that Mason has had a better season with a tougher schedule than Hofstra, and should be rewarded with it. Only 13 home games out of 30 … that’s got to be looked at. I’ll add your SN, I’d love to talk now, but unfortunately, I’m at work.

    I mean just compare the statistics (I’ll use two sources, realtimerpi and kenpom.com)

    realtimerpi:
    Mason:
    RPI – 26
    Record – 23-7
    Overall SOS – 89

    Hofstra:
    RPI – 30
    Record – 24-6
    Overall SOS – 126

    kenpom:
    Mason:
    RPI – 27
    Overall SOS – 89
    Non-Conf RPI – 30
    Non-Conf SOS – 38

    Hofstra:
    RPI – 30
    Overall SOS – 126
    Non-Conf RPI – 64
    Non-Conf SOS – 285

    Both have same records of 11-6 on R/N courts.

    Also, keep in mind that Mason’s RPI keeps rising, as Hofstra’s has recently fallen.

    Now this can change, obviously. However, CURRENTLY … to me Hofstra’s only edge is the 2 wins on Mason.

    And just for an interesting note: No team with an RPI of 30 or below has been excluded from the tournament. Guess what … this year, it’ll happen. Obviously because of the new formula. But nonetheless, still interesting.

  15. all right “anonymous”..im sure you’ve been waiting so i’ll say it…you were right- i was wrong…try and lay off me for a day or two, watching air force and george mason come up on that screen was one of the most sickening feelings ive had since i watched aaron boone send one over the left field wall at yankee stadium during game 7 of the 2003 alcs…tough times in hempstead…im going to bed, somebody wake me when the tourney is over…

  16. bryan_kulp: it’s okay, it was a fun argument.

    Really, seeing Air Force and Mason come up was sickening? Hofstra got robbed, but not by Mason. Hofstra got robbed by Air Force and Utah State. However, they’re now pissed, and I hope to see them go far into the tourney. And the plus side, another live game for you to be at since they’ll be hosting. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
